Access Permissions
Depending on their document access permissions, users are divided into owners, collaborators, and readers. Each has the following characteristics.
Type | Description |
|---|---|
Owners | Perform all tasks for the document, such as creating chapters, setting access permissions, and deleting the document. |
Collaborators | Edit the document content as co-authors. |
Readers | Review the document content in the web viewer. |
The detailed roles are as follows.
Owners | Collaborators | Readers | |
|---|---|---|---|
Document | Web Viewer Build File Branch View Revision View Figures View Analytics Related Progress Management Reminder Copy Document Configurations Copy Delete | Web Viewer Build File Branch View Revision View Figures View Analytics Related Progress Management Reminder - - - | Web Viewer - - - - - - - - - - - |
Basics | Update basics | - | - |
Table of Contents | Create and update chapters Create Chapters Import Chapters from Other Document Import Word File Configure Chapter Option Edit Content Move to Another Document, Copy Delete Change the order of the table of contents | - - - - - Edit Content - - - | - - - - - Review content - - - |
Access Control | Update Access Control | - | - |
Publishing & Tag | Update Publishing Create Tag | - - | - - |
Changing Access Permissions
Change document access permissions as follows.
Go to the document details screen.
In the “Access Control” panel, click the <Update Access Control> link.
On the Owners, Collaborators, and Readers tabs, turn users or groups on or off to set or change permissions.
Changes are saved as soon as you turn them on or off.
Static documents do not have the Collaborators tab.
Note the following when you set access permissions.
The user who created the document has owner permissions.
A document must have at least one owner.
If you remove yourself from the owners and save, you immediately lose owner permissions for the document.
Only users with the “Write & Read” role can be owners or collaborators, and only users with the “Write & Read” or “Read Only” role can be readers.
You can assign “All Users” as collaborators and readers.
Document Access Permissions and Project Members
When you set access permissions for a document, if you select “1Project Members”, all users in the project can access the document.
Setting document access with Project Members
When you have many documents and users, we recommend setting document access permissions by project.
Viewing Users Who Can Access a Document
The “Access Control” panel shows the units of access permission set directly on the document, such as users, groups, and project members. Click the <1View Details> link to expand groups and project members into actual users and show them as owners, collaborators, and readers. A user who receives access permissions in several ways appears only once. You can also see how each user received permissions and whether they are 2watching the document.
Viewing details of users who can access a document